Photo

What one thing would you tell a civilian?

civilian carry training drop knowledge

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 SacRyan

SacRyan

Salty Dog

• Crew Leader
  • 136 posts
  • LocationUT

Posted 27 September 2013 - 10:44 AM

I'm a firearms instructor when I'm not "paying the bills" at my computer security job. The school I'm with is one of the largest institutions for CIVILIANS in the US. (I'm not here to advertise search Pahrump Shooting School if you're interested.)

Bear in mind, these students are already in a class designed to teach them the fundamentals of carrying a pistol day in and day out, we even deliver lectures on shitting with a pistol on your belt and not being "that guy". They learn safety, malfunction clearances, shooting basics, presentation from an OWB holster but under concealment. And do all of this under time pressure if they think they can. (about 95% of every class attempts time pressure) As well as conversations about the use of deadly force, color code of mental awareness, and criminal and civil liability following a shooting. Most are really there to learn; I started my quest to be an instructor after a little ol' grandma from florida showed up with her brand new (never fired) G17. Hubby still traveled and she was gonna be damned to be caught unarmed and under trained alone at home. (She has been taking courses at the school for several years and has brought friends too!)

Given that background, if you had 60 seconds to stand in front of a class of 40 twice a week, what one or two things would you tell them to make them better?

Qd3OG01.png

Do the right thing, even when no one is looking.

#2 DStevenson

DStevenson

Salty Dog

• 1,869 posts
  • LocationMichigan

Posted 27 September 2013 - 12:16 PM

PRACTICE!
Go to the range (indoor or outdoor) as often as you physically and financially can. Practice your draw, practice your trigger pull, practice sight alignment and sight picture.