Photo

Waterproofing an EDC bag and/or its contents?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 GigantorTX

GigantorTX

Landlubber

• Validating
  • 13 posts
  • LocationDFW, Texas

Posted 28 March 2014 - 03:07 PM

Does anybody use a waterproofing treatment on their EDC bag? I'm fairly new to the EDC experience and I was already planning on packing most of my survival and medical gear in Ziploc bags or something similar to prevent water damage, but I don't have a plan yet for large articles like clothing or shoes. I guess my other option would be a rain cover for the bag.

Any ideas or options I'm missing? Experiences or knowledge on what works best?

#2 iExpresso

iExpresso

Salty Dog

• Crew Leader
  • 307 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 29 March 2014 - 08:55 AM

I dont waterproof my EDC 1000 denier nylon fabric man satchel purse. Though, the lid is lined entirely with a clear map pocket. This keeps heavy rain from soaking into the main compartment. Discloser: I am never in the rain with my bag more than a few minutes;) My ipad is in a lifeproof case. each pocket has a very small silicone perforated capsule to absorb any leftover moisture. Ziplocks are fine but dont rely on them for submersion. I cant remember the name brand but Tactical Distributors and REI sell beefier clear bags that would hold up better.

Edited by jgnolen, 29 March 2014 - 08:56 AM.

#3 spenceman

spenceman

Life Member

• Plank Owner
  • 907 posts
  • LocationAZ

Posted 29 March 2014 - 12:04 PM