21 replies to this topic

#1 Jersey0311

Jersey0311

Bullets and Bandages

• Crew Leader
  • 1,021 posts
  • LocationNJ

Posted 10 June 2015 - 08:41 PM

For those of you who don't know, I'm a rookie cop in NJ.

I actually carry off duty, give a shit about my job, and am serious about having the proper tools and gear available to me in the event of some dumb shit happening.

So recently the department issued all the officers a CAT TQ. 99% of the guys just threw it in their bag citing the fact that most of us carry too much on the belt as is. 1% carry it on our person. One guy I know rigged it to the epaulet on his shirt, and I carry mine in a 1110 CAT TQ holder on the belt behind my gun.

The other day at muster, it was brought up that the supervisors had a meeting with admin about the dept purchasing holders like the one I had, and were wondering if guys thought it'd be a good idea to keep them on their person. Naturally all of my coworkers were against the idea, and the Sgt said well it's just the new guy then. I brought up the point of what's the use of having one issued if you can't get to it in time?

I was allowed to keep it on my person and everyone is just going to be big boys and girls and do what they want.

Also, apparently nobody has ever brought a light on their off duty gun to qualification, which blew the rangemaster away. Initially I wasn't going to be allowed to carry the light on the gun, as I wasn't on the special ops team, and there was no policy on lights. I argued that we're getting lights on duty guns in a few months anyway, and I need to be able to positively ID the threat. They like us carrying a flashlight off duty for that reason, and I argued that having a weapon light would supplement, not replace the handheld.