18 replies to this topic

#1 David Hamilton

David Hamilton

Swabbie

• Crew Member
  • 32 posts
  • LocationChicago, Il

Posted 21 June 2016 - 09:45 AM

Hey guys , haven't posted in a while here but need some help. I recently got over my pistol urge by buying a m&p bodyguard 380 for my off duty carry. ( I'm a Chicago police officer).
I'm now looking to start saving some money for an AR 15. There is a list of several companies I'm thinking of going with but really don't know what's the overall best or " good at all, best at none ".
My experience with rifles is simple, I was in the Marine Corps infantry with deployments to Afghan in 05 to 09. Also did a brief time with a pmc company. So, my skills are there. I can shoot , dis and ass most weapon systems, clean and run the gun in combat. The thing the infantry doesn't really get into, is all the intricacies of the m4 ( types or barrels, chrome lined, all the various sights and endless internal workings of the rifle.)

The m4 I used got me through many rough situations and naturally im looking for something that can stand up against what I carried. I need something tough, moderately accurate( home defense and 200 -300 yds accuracy) and something that is overall trust worthy. And not breaking the bank. Here's some of the companies im looking at....

Colt
Smith & Wesson
Bushmaster
Defense Procurement Manufacturing Services (DPMS)
Rock River
Lewis Machine & Tool
DS Arms
Armalite
L.W.R.C.
LaRue Tactical
Ruger
Saber Defense
Stag Arms
Daniel Defense
CMMG
Spike's Tactical.
  • David Hamilton likes this

#2 Quietmike

Quietmike

Salty Dog

• Crew Leader
  • 140 posts

Posted 21 June 2016 - 10:50 AM

Daniel Defense, LaRue, Colt, Bravo Custom, and Seekins are the top ones in my opinion.

You might get a great one from other companies, and you might get a lemon from these guys, but the overall quality and service from the above has been exemplary for me.
  • Psybain likes this

CrewLeaderSignature.png

#3 David Hamilton