#1 redlegalpha

redlegalpha

Landlubber

• Crew Leader
  • 7 posts
  • LocationFranklin, TN

Posted 04 December 2017 - 12:32 PM

Hi all,

I carry a SOFTT-W in my cars and on my person. I've also put them into trauma kits for the church I pastor. I've never used a SOFTT-W on a child before, and it looks like it might be very difficult to get it to work. Are there any recommendations for child tourniquets out there? I can find a few when searching online, but would prefer to get insight from those with experience. Do EMTs carry them? Is there a particular style that is a clear favorite? Or has anyone used a SOFTT-W on a child and found that it worked fine?

Thanks for any help!

Matt

#2 billybogota

billybogota

Salty Dog

• Crew Leader
  • 103 posts
  • LocationIndiana

Posted 04 December 2017 - 01:11 PM

Disclaimer: I am not an EMT.  But a few EMT's I spoke with in the past recommended the SWAT tourniquets for pediatric use.

• redlegalpha likes this

1LtuBMc.png?2

#3 Guest_thegouldii_*

Guest_thegouldii_*
  • Guests

Posted 04 December 2017 - 01:39 PM

What age / size / weight of the child? Here in Aust, 14 years and above we treat as an 'adult', but below that it varies somewhat......

#4 redlegalpha

redlegalpha

Landlubber

• Crew Leader
  • 7 posts
  • LocationFranklin, TN

Posted 04 December 2017 - 01:45 PM

What age / size / weight of the child? Here in Aust, 14 years and above we treat as an 'adult', but below that it varies somewhat......

Good question. In my specific case, we have all ages, but in the part of the church we would use these, the children are birth through 5th grade. We will have a regular SOFTT-W there for the adults who teach and larger kids, so I guess I'm looking for something for anyone too small to fit a SOFTT-W. Say somewhere between 100-120 pounds (45-55 kilos) and smaller?

Matt

Edited by redlegalpha, 04 December 2017 - 01:46 PM.

#5 redlegalpha

redlegalpha

Landlubber

• Crew Leader
  • 7 posts
  • LocationFranklin, TN