9 replies to this topic

#1 CanuckTrucker

CanuckTrucker

Landlubber

• Crew Leader
  • 12 posts

Posted 26 February 2018 - 09:58 PM

Hey all,

I'm a Canadian trucker, that spends a lot of time in the USA driving around. I wouldn't say I'm becoming more paranoid, but after lurking around here and reading a bunch, I realize I'm pretty under-prepared. There's been a couple or three trucker shootings in the last couple months, that I'm not really thrilled to hear about. I had someone vandalize the truck one night while I was sleeping.

I think that's what led me here, was reading up on prepping. I'd say right now I count on my truck as my "bug out bag". It's got food and water, first aid, defense weapons, clothes, shelter, 120v power, microwave, heat and AC. I've trained myself that 1/4 tanks is my new "empty" so theres always 50 or so gallons. That should be 200 plus miles of driving range, which should get me to a safe area. 

But then after re-evaluating things, I havent looked at the first aid kit, ever. I usually run low on water. Having a folding knife doesn't do much sitting down buckled in, in a pants pocket. It's also a stationary target at night, and largely unmanouverable compared to an automobile while driving.

I don't think I can worry about a random drive by shooting. Other than paying attention I don't know how you'd train for that. I don't think at this point I want to carry a firearm, there is a lot of legality involved. From what little I know it's best to carry with it loaded, for ease of use, but when it comes to LEOs, border crossings, DOT officers, etc I feel it adds too much complexity. I think EDC will be a folding knife and an asp, for defense. Im thinking of adding a fixed blade to the truck, easily accessible from the drivers seat. 

So hi. I'm a basket case now but I have a plan to make myself better.  

#2 Spartan24

Spartan24

Salty Dog

• Crew Leader
  • 177 posts
  • LocationNorthern AZ

Posted 26 February 2018 - 10:53 PM