Photo

Long time listener, first time caller...

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 smslavin

smslavin

Landlubber

• Crew Leader
  • 1 posts
  • LocationDenver

Posted 21 May 2018 - 09:44 AM

Well, hi there. I'm Sean.

As the title says, I've been following ITS for a long time, 7 or 8 years. Maybe longer. I spend a significant amount of time in the backcountry, either on foot, on a bike, or in the truck, and this site has always provided great info and resources for those excursions. Thought I'd make myself official and try to give back a little.

My background is pretty diverse as I'm still trying to figure what I want to be when I grow up. My family and I currently reside in Denver having moved here 6 years ago from San Diego. In SD, I had had my own photography studio. The main income stream came from weddings and family portraits but my fun, creative recharge time came from submitting to Surfer and Surfing magazines as well as running around Anza Borrego in a built out FJ Cruiser.

Prior to the studio, I was a NAUI instructor for a small dive shop in Laguna Beach. The man who trained me as a dive master was an ex-UDT from the Vietnam era. The owner of the shop had run the Canadian Coast Guard rescue swimmer teams. Needless to say, they put me through the wringer when it came to water skills. Skills that served me well during my surf photography and continue to serve me now. I taught almost every weekend, worked as a dive master on shop sponsored boat trips and received my CCR certification on the Prism Topaz. I really enjoyed flying that machine and I was able to meet some incredible people because of it.