Honoring Extraordinary Heroism: Postal Service Introduces Stamps Featuring Service Cross Medals this Memorial Day - ITS Tactical

Shop the ITS Store!


Honoring Extraordinary Heroism: Postal Service Introduces Stamps Featuring Service Cross Medals this Memorial Day

By The ITS Crew


This Memorial Day, the U.S. Postal Service will honor military service members who have been awarded one of the four Service Cross Medals; the Distinguished Service Cross, the Navy Cross, the Air Force Cross and the Coast Guard Cross.

The Honoring Extraordinary Heroism: The Service Cross Medals Forever Stamps will be dedicated at 11 a.m. EST, May 30th at the 2016 World Stamp Show. This stamp show is the world’s largest and only takes place in the U.S. once a decade. More than 250,000 visitors are expected at the show, running May 28th through June 4th at the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center in New York City.

Many recipients of these awards died or were severely wounded as a result of the valorous actions for which they were honored, while a number of others died in subsequent battles before receiving the award for their earlier actions. Many recipients rescued wounded service members or drew enemy fire to buy time for others to regroup or be rescued.

Some continued fighting despite their own wounds. According to official accounts, all braved enemy fire, made bold decisions and took selfless actions to rescue or protect their fellow service members. These medals pay homage to such valorous actions and dedication to duty.


The Distinguished Service Cross was the first of these decorations to be established, in 1918, followed the next year by the Navy Cross. The Air Force Cross was instituted in 1960, following the creation of the Air Force as a separate military service independent from the Army. The Coast Guard Cross was only recently instituted, in 2010, to recognize its members for qualifying actions taken when not operating under the Department of the Navy or during military operations against international terrorists. This decoration is yet to be awarded.

The Service Cross Medals are the second highest military decoration for valor in combat, after the Medal of Honor. In the official language authorized by congressional legislation, the Service Cross Medals are given for extraordinary heroism not justifying the award of a Medal of Honor while:

  • engaged in an action against an enemy of the United States;
  • engaged in military operations involving conflict with an opposing foreign force; or
  • serving with friendly foreign forces engaged in an armed conflict against an opposing armed force in which the United States is not a belligerent party.

The Postal Service previously issued Medal of Honor Forever Stamps honoring recipients who served in World War II, the Korean War and the Vietnam War.

Are you getting more than 14¢ of value per day from ITS?

Thanks to the generosity of our supporting members, we’ve eliminated annoying ads and obtrusive content. We want your experience here at ITS to be beneficial and enjoyable.

At ITS, our goal is to provide different methods, ideas and knowledge that could one day save your life. If you’re interested in supporting our mission and joining our growing community of supporters, click below to learn more.


  • 6point8_SPC
  • Sam Stalons

    Department of homeland security is the military?

    • Rick Burkhart

      TSA? – Can you say KGB???

    • Sam Stalons

      The Coast Guard is an entity of the Department of Homeland Security, and before that the Department of Transportation. To me, you can decree anything you like, but if you don’t deploy, doesn’t count.

    • Ricky Lisi

      Sam Stalons My wife is deployed right now to Bahrain, and was also just recently in kuwait. The coast guard is apart of the military under – 14 U.S.C. 1 (which reads) The Coast Guard, established January 28, 1915, shall be a military service and a branch of the armed forces of the United States at all times.

    • Sam Stalons

      Yes I’ve read the same thing. I know what technical language exists especially that blurb. I’m sure you don’t want to hear this but when I said deployed, I meant combat. The Navy “deploys” all the time, cruising all over the globe, I’ve been on a few with them while in the Marines. This discussion really isn’t about denouncing the importance of an agency, only questioning the association of them as a military member.

  • Ricky Lisi

    Kelly Crea Lisi

Do you have what you need to prevail?

Shop the ITS Store for exclusive merchandise, equipment and hard to find tactical gear.

Do you have what you need to prevail? Tap the button below to see what you’re missing.