38 replies to this topic

#1 DieselD

DieselD

Salty Dog

• Crew Leader
  • 530 posts
  • LocationSW Michigan

Posted 30 April 2014 - 03:13 PM

Hey guys I need a real good pair of boots for everyday work.

I'm on my feet a lot and am super HARD on boot.

I go through a pair every 6 months or less. I am a farmer and diesel mechanic, so you get the idea of what my boot go through. The last pair of red wings only lasted me 5 1/2 months til the soles seperated from the boot;.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks

A government feared by its citizens is tyranny. A government afraid of it's citizens is freedom

III%er

CrewLeaderSignature.png

#2 Scuba CN

Scuba CN

Salty Dog

• Crew Member
  • 488 posts

Posted 30 April 2014 - 03:46 PM

I've heard that Danner boots have a good reputation but don't have any personal experience with them yet. They do offer a number of boots that are made in the U.S. if that is important to you.

#3 Jersey0311

Jersey0311

Bullets and Bandages

• Crew Leader
  • 1,021 posts
  • LocationNJ

Posted 30 April 2014 - 03:47 PM

http://www.extremeou...armntt4gtx.aspx

Given the choice, I'd go back to Afghan wearing those boots.

TBL-2.png

In Memory Of Our Fallen - OEF - Afghanistan - Lima VIII

Rest Easy Brothers, We'll Take It From Here. We'll Keep The Light Burning.

#4 mangeface

mangeface

Salty Dog

• 2,598 posts
  • LocationOklahoma

Posted 30 April 2014 - 03:57 PM

I saw this topic and was ready to talk shit about service members that hadn't deployed. Oh the let downs in life. :(

Danner's are very good. But very pricey.

For the type of work you do, which is kind of similar to what I do (mechanic), Bates are good and fairly priced (about 1/3 of Danners). The soles are sewn to the boot, so they should last a good deal longer.